Challenge

Pick one of your favourite songs and write a play inspired by it.

Response

That’s the first week done… and still 3 to go. When will this insanity end?!?!?

Anyways, on with the challenge. One of my favourite bands when younger was Feeder, and upon seeing that they are playing in Portsmouth this summer, I downloaded their singles album and my love for them has re-started. Now upon me mentioning the band Feeder, you’ve probably guessed what song I have chosen as inspiration for today’s play.

All together now: do do-do, do, do do-do, do!

Result

Just a Day

Scene One

Dan:               Thanks for doing this man.

Leon:             It’s no problem.

Dan:               I swear I won’t be here long-

Leon:             -It’s no trouble.

Dan:               Just a day, until I get back on my feet.

Leon:             It’s fine, you can stay as long as you want.

The last word echoes for a few seconds.

Lights up – Dan is dressed in last night’s clothes, passed out on the sofa. Surrounding him are clothes, toiletries, and a large amount of beer bottles and cans.

He slowly starts to come to.

Dan:               (Hungover) Aw man, what time is it.

He looks at his watch.

OH SHIT!

At that moment, Leon enters directing a group of stage hands. They pull Dan up onto and slide the sofa to the side of the stage. Some of them throw water in his face; some of them take of his shirt and jacket, and replace them with the ones he was wearing in the opening. This is all done in the space of a few seconds, as Leon beckons for the sofa to be brought back.

Tanoy:           Mind…the gap!

The stage hands bring on the side of a Tube Train and the sofa is brought back on with two Tube passengers reading the Metro. Shaving foam is lathered onto Dan’s face and he is shoved down onto the sofa. As the train rockets along, a razor is thrown at Leon and he shaves Dan, whilst the two passengers attempt to keep him upright.

The tube train comes to a halt and the two passengers put down their papers and lift Dan up onto his feet. The sofa is rushed away and Leon beckons at the stage hands. They push over a small bar, with a barista holding onto it.

Leon:             Coffee.

The Barista throws a takeaway cup of coffee, which one of the passengers catches and passes to Leon.

Dan:               Irish!

The barista throws a hip flask at Dan, which Leon jumps in and bats away. Dan downs his drink, nearly falling over. Leon runs behind him and props him upright.

Employer:     (Offstage) Enter.

The barista is wheeled away, and a table with three employers is wheeled on the other side. The passengers exit and Dan is turned round to face them by Leon. Leon takes a few steps back.

Employer:     Now, how would you describe your work ethic?

Dan sways on the spot for a second, he then stops and looks as if he I about to vomit. Leon suddenly leaps out in between Dan and the interview panel.

Leon:             LOOK OVER THERE!

The interview panel look behind them, just as a stage hand comes on and holds a bucket for Dan to throw up in to. Leon then pulls a CV from his pocket and places it on the desk. The bucket is disposed of, and Dan’s lip wiped clean in the few seconds before the interview panel turn back round to face him.

The stage hands use Dan as a puppet and point his hands at the CV. The interview panel inspect the C.V.

Employer:     Very nice. We’ll see you tomorrow.

They are wheeled out, as Dan sways uncontrollably on the spot. The stage hands turn him round and let him fall back, where he lands on a bar chair that has been placed behind him.. He sits on the stool and starts to fall forward, but is caught by a bar, which is wheeled on that he slams his head against. He raises his hand; a drink is slid across the bar, which he manages to catch, whilst still having his head laid on the bar. He sits up and grabs his drink, the bar is taken away. Dan stands up and downs his drink, the bar stool is removed and the sofa is brought back on, where Dan stumbles and falls back onto it, throwing the glass behind him. He then goes horizontal and passes out.

Leon enters, on the phone.

Leon:             …No I’m sorry hun, but you can’t really come over tonight. (Pause) Yeah he’s still… I know he said it would just… I know he’s been here… Look, he said it would just be for another day. (Pause) Well where else is he gonna go? He’s got nowhere else to stay, has he? (Pause) She kicked him out with like a days’ notice so- (Pause) Look, I’m not- I’m not here to blame anyone or… I’m a friend, that’s what- Yes that’s what matters. I’m here for him; I need to be here for him. (Pause) Look, it’s fine, as long as I’m here, he’ll be alright and… Yes I know I have… I know about my exams next week, but I’m not just gonna leave him out on his arse am I? I’ll be fine, trust me. (Pause) I know but- Look as he said, it’s just another day.

Lights down – the last word echoes.

Scene Two

Lights up – Dan is passed out on the sofa

He slowly starts to come to.

Dan:               (Hungover) Aw man, what time is it.

He looks at his watch.

OH SHIT!

At that moment, Leon enters directing a group of stage hands. They pull Dan up onto and slide the sofa to the side of the stage. Some of them throw water in his face, some of them take of his shirt and jacket, and replace them with an almost identical, almost just as dirty one, which looks as if it has been worn two nights before. This is all done in the space of a few seconds, as Leon beckons for the sofa to be brought back.

Tanoy:           Mind…the gap!

The stage hands bring on the side of a Tube Train and the sofa is brought back on with two Tube passengers reading the Metro. Shaving foam is lathered onto Dan’s face and he is shoved down onto the sofa. As the train rockets along, a razor is thrown at Leon and he shaves Dan, whilst the two passengers attempt to keep him upright.

The tube train comes to a halt and the two passengers put down their papers and lift Dan up onto his feet. The sofa is rushed away and Leon beckons at the stage hands. They push over a small bar, with a barista holding onto it.

Leon:             Coffee.

The Barista throws a takeaway cup of coffee, which one of the passengers catches and passes to Leon.

Dan:               Irish!

The barista throws a hip flask at Dan, which Leon jumps in and bats away. Dan downs his drink, nearly falling over. Leon runs behind him and props him upright.

Employer:     (Offstage) Enter.

The barista is wheeled away, and a table with three employers is wheeled on the other side. The passengers exit and Dan is turned round to face them by Leon. Leon takes a few steps back.

Employer:     Now, how would you describe your work ethic?

Dan sways on the spot for a second, he then stops and looks as if he I about to vomit. Leon suddenly leaps out in between Dan and the interview panel.

Leon:             LOOK OVER THERE!

The interview panel look behind them, just as a stage hand comes on and holds a bucket for Dan to throw up in to. Leon then pulls a CV from his pocket and places it on the desk. The bucket is disposed of, and Dan’s lip wiped clean in the few seconds before the interview panel turn back round to face him.

The stage hands use Dan as a puppet and point his hands at the CV. The interview panel inspect the C.V.

Employer:     Very nice. We’ll see you tomorrow.

They are wheeled out, as Dan sways uncontrollably on the spot. The stage hands turn him round and let him fall back, where he lands on a bar chair that has been placed behind him.. He sits on the stool and starts to fall forward, but is caught by a bar, which is wheeled on that he slams his head against. He raises his hand; a drink is slid across the bar, which he manages to catch, whilst still having his head laid on the bar. He sits up and grabs his drink, the bar is taken away. Dan stands up and downs his drink, the bar stool is removed and the sofa is brought back on, where Dan stumbles and falls back onto it, throwing the glass behind him. He then goes horizontal and passes out.

Leon enters, on the phone. He looks more dishevelled and tired than before.

Leon:             Yes sir I… I know. (Pause) Absolutely, I just… I just had to get the essays finished today, I will… I’ll take it as Annual Leave, and I’ll… Yes I will catch up when I get back in tomorrow, I’ll… If you want I’ll…

He looks at Dan.

I mean, I can stay late if I have to- Or maybe come in early, if that makes things easier? (Pause) I know, I know it’s… It’s just I have… I have a… house guest at the moment.

Dan looks as if he is about to come to.

(Pause) He kind of has nowhere else to go and- (Pause) No it’s not an exc- Yup… Yup I know, I’ll… I’ll see you tomorrow.

Lights down.

Scene Three

Lights up – Dan is passed out on the sofa

He slowly starts to come to.

Dan:               (Hungover) Aw man, what time is it.

He looks at his watch.

OH SHIT!

At that moment, Leon enters directing a group of stage hands. They pull Dan up onto and slide the sofa to the side of the stage. Some of them throw water in his face; some of them take of his shirt and jacket, and replace them with the ones he was changed in to the first time around. This is all done in the space of a few seconds, as Leon beckons for the sofa to be brought back.

Tanoy:           Mind…the gap!

The stage hands bring on the side of a Tube Train and the sofa is brought back on with two Tube passengers reading the Metro. Shaving foam is lathered onto Dan’s face and he is shoved down onto the sofa. As the train rockets along, a razor is thrown at Leon and he shaves Dan, whilst the two passengers attempt to keep him upright.

The tube train comes to a halt and the two passengers put down their papers and lift Dan up onto his feet. The sofa is rushed away and Leon beckons at the stage hands. They push over a small bar, with a barista holding onto it.

Leon:             Coffee.

The Barista throws a takeaway cup of coffee, which one of the passengers catches and passes to Leon.

Dan:               Irish!

The barista throws a hip flask at Dan, which Leon jumps in and bats away. Dan downs his drink, nearly falling over. Leon runs behind him and props him upright.

Employer:     (Offstage) Enter.

The barista is wheeled away, and a table with three employers is wheeled on the other side. The passengers exit and Dan is turned round to face them by Leon. Leon takes a few steps back.

Employer:     Now, how would you describe your work ethic?

Dan sways on the spot for a second, he then stops and looks as if he I about to vomit. Leon suddenly leaps out in between Dan and the interview panel.

Leon:             LOOK OVER THERE!

The interview panel look behind them, just as a stage hand comes on and holds a bucket for Dan to throw up in to. Leon then pulls a CV from his pocket and places it on the desk. The bucket is disposed of, and Dan’s lip wiped clean in the few seconds before the interview panel turn back round to face him.

The stage hands use Dan as a puppet and point his hands at the CV. The interview panel inspect the C.V.

Employer:     Very nice. We’ll see you tomorrow.

They are wheeled out, as Dan sways uncontrollably on the spot. The stage hands turn him round and let him fall back, where he lands on a bar chair that has been placed behind him.. He sits on the stool and starts to fall forward, but is caught by a bar, which is wheeled on that he slams his head against. He raises his hand; a drink is slid across the bar, which he manages to catch, whilst still having his head laid on the bar. He sits up and grabs his drink, the bar is taken away. Dan stands up and downs his drink, the bar stool is removed and the sofa is brought back on, where Dan stumbles and falls back onto it, throwing the glass behind him. He then goes horizontal and passes out.

Leon enters, he looks a mess, clearly getting an earful on the phone.

Leon:             Mmmhmmm (Pause) Yup. (Pause)

Dan starts to come to, unbeknownst to Leon. He sits up, watching and listening to Leon’s side of the conversation.

I know I… Yes… Look, its fine I’m- (Pause) I’m on top of it… Yes he’s still- Yes he’s still here. Its fine, he just… I’m not- (Pause) I’m sure he would be fine- Yes I think he’d be fine I’m just… I’m just… Look there’s nothing wrong with giving him a… a helping hand is all, nothing wrong with that. (Pause) Well I’m his friend that’s what… that’s what we do. I… (Defeated) Yes… Look I’ll-

He turns round and see that Dan is awake and watching.

I’ll call you back.

He hangs up the phone.

Hey you’re up?

Dan:               You sound surprised.

Leon:             Well it’s half seven.

Dan:               Must have nodded off early-

Leon:             -In the morning.

Dan:               Oh wow…

Leon:             The earliest so far has been twelve most days.

Dan:               So this is what morning looks like. Well, daytime morning, if that makes sense.

Leon:             How you feeling?

Dan:               I don’t think it’s quite hit me yet.

Leon:             You want a drink?

Dan:               I always want a drink.

Leon:             Ah Ok, well I’ve got gin, or-

Dan:               -No-no-no, mate I’m kidding. I can my head twitching at the sound of more alcohol… Beside it’s far too early for a drink now.

Pause

Leon:             So…

Dan:               Yes.

Leon:             Well seeing as you’re up, I can make some calls and get an earlier interview for you sorted, an-

Dan:               -Actually you know man, maybe… I dunno maybe I should—I was thinking of heading into town – you know…myself this morning.

Leon:             Oh…you sure?

Dan:               Listen Leon, you’ve done too much- far too much for me these past few… weeks- Jesus it has been weeks, this was only supposed to be a one day thing.

Leon:             It’s fine honest.

Dan:               You’re too kind man.

Leon:             Really I don’t mind.

Dan:               You’re a good friend, but I’ve been a bit of a burden let’s be honest here.

Leon:             Oh no, no mate its-

Dan                -Leon, come on. I don’t wanna keep holding you down – holding you back like this. It’s not fair, especially seeing how good a friend you’ve been to me – it’s not fair that I treat you like this, because you’re a friend, you’re my friend.

Leon smiles.

Leon:             You sure you’ll be OK today?

Dan:               Yeah I mean… how hard can it be?

Leon:             OK, cool well… I’ll get off to work. See you tonight?

Dan:               Yeah man.

Leon exits.

Dan lays down on the sofa.

Maybe another half hour sleep, and then I’ll get right on it.

Lights down.

Scene Four

Lights up – Dan is passed out on the sofa.

He slowly starts to come to.

Dan:               (Hungover) Aw man, what time is it.

He looks at his watch.

OH SHIT!

Nothing happens

Oh erm…

He waves his arms around.

Hello?

The stage hands awkwardly come on stage.

Dan holds his arms out.

Well come on.

They pull Dan up onto and slide the sofa to the side of the stage. One throws a load of water on his face and slaps some shaving cream on him. He is then shoved back and falls to the floor.

Tanoy:           Mind…the gap!

The stage hands bring on the side of a Tube Train and the sofa is brought back on with two Tube passengers reading the Metro. The sofa pushes Dan off stage. He crawls back on and climbs onto the sofa. As the train rockets along, a razor is thrown at him as he hastily tries to shave himself against the rocking train. The tube train comes to a halt and the two passengers get up and leave Dan behind.  The sofa is rushed away and Dan has to quickly jump off.

Dan:               Aww my head. Feels like it’s going to fucking explode.

 The stage hands  push over a small bar, with a barista holding onto it.

Coffee!

The Barista throws a takeaway cup of coffee which Dan just about catches.

Irish!

The barista throws a hip flask at Dan, which Dan catches and pours the contents into his cup. He downs it.

Employer:     (Offstage) Enter.

The barista is wheeled away, and a table with three employers is wheeled on the other side. The passengers exit and Dan stumbles round to face the interview panel.

Employer:     Now, how would you describe your work ethic?

Dan sways on the spot for a second and then projective vomits all over the interview panel.

Pause

Dan:               L-look overe there…

Dan:               LOOK OVER THERE!

They are wheeled out, as Dan sways uncontrollably on the spot. The stage hands turn him round and let him fall back, where he collapse onto the floor. A bar is wheeled on and Dan pulls himself onto. He holds up his hand, beckoning for a drink.

Bartender:    (Amused) I think you’ve had enough mate.

Dan:               (Drunk) Don’t you tell me what I am.

Bartender:    Mate you’re off your face.

Dan:               You think this is funny. Now… I will- Oh just you-

He comes round to the other side of the bar, pretending to be threatening.

I’ll chin ya, you bastarrrrrr….

Swing and a miss.

He falls to the floor, as the bar is wheeled away.

The sofa is wheeled back on to its normal spot.

Leon enters. He takes one look at Dan and sighs, dragging him over to the sofa.

Dan:               Thanks for doing this man.

Leon:             It’s no problem.

Dan:               I swear I won’t be here long-

Leon:             -It’s no trouble.

Dan:               It’s only until I get back on my feet. Just a day, I swear.

Leon props him up on the sofa and exits. Dan looks around at the mess surrounding him. He holds his head in his hands.

Come on man.

Lights down.

 

